Fulbright program

Fulbright 2020-2021 top producer badge.

ASU has been named 2020–2021 Fulbright Program Top Producer for Student and Scholar Programs.


The Fulbright program was established in 1946 and is administered by the Institute of International Education Council for International Exchange of Scholars. The program is designed to “increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries” and provides the opportunity to study, teach, and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

The Fulbright Scholars Program sends faculty from the U.S. abroad to lecture, conduct research, or participate in seminars. Faculty generally stay abroad anywhere from two months to a full academic year. This award is often taken in conjunction with research, development or sabbatical leave options. Arizona State University faculty Fulbright scholars have canvassed the world serving in different countries and institutions. ASU is recognized as one of the top producers of Fulbright Faculty Scholars. View ASU Fulbright membership.

The Fulbright Scholar Program is currently accepting applications for the awards for the 2022–2023 academic year. Revised application deadline is: September 15, 2021. Opportunities are available in more than 125 countries for college and university faculty and administrators as well as other professions. For more information about the program visit Core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program.

The ASU Provost’s Liaison to the Fulbright Scholars Program can provide a number of resources and additional support during the application process, including arranging consultations with the Fulbright coordinators for countries of interest. For more information, contact Karen Engler-Weber, Program Director for the Office of the University Provost at karen.engler@asu.edu.

Information sessions for Scholars and Specialist programs:

Feb. 24

Fulbright Scholars Information Session

  • Wednesday, Feb. 24, 2021
  • Noon to 1:30 p.m.
  • Register

March 5

Fulbright Specialist Workshop

  • Friday, March 5, 2021
  • Noon to 1:30 p.m.
  • Register

March 12

Fulbright Scholars Information Session

  • Friday, March 12, 2021
  • 10 to 11:30 a.m.
  • Register

March 24

ASU Fulbright Day Specialist and Scholar Presentations

  • Wednesday, March 24, 2021
  • Specialist Program: 9 to 10 a.m.
  • Scholars Information Session: Noon to 1:30 p.m.
  • Student Program Session: 3 to 4:30 p.m.
  • Register

April 14

Fulbright Scholars Information Session

  • Wednesday, April 14, 2021
  • 2 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Register