About us
News and Information
Early Start To School
Leadership Seminars
Employment Opportunities
Scholarhip Programs
Guest Book
National Advisory Panel Members

The National Advisory Panel was formed to advise the Executive Director and the Coordinating Council as regards to the direction HBLI should take and to help identify funding for the Institute. HBLI recently expanded the National Advisory Panel from 14 to 24 members, including four congressional representative, five state legislators, four business leaders, and a number of academic and professional leaders. Listed below, by category, are the NAP members.

Hon. Joe Baca
U.S. Representative, California

Hon. Rubén Hinojosa
U.S. Representative, South Texas

Hon. Ed Pastor
U.S. Representative, Phoenix, Arizona

Hon. Loretta Sánchez
U.S. Representative, Orange County, California

Hon. Joe Eddie López
Arizona State Senator, Phoenix, AZ

Hon. Irma Rangel
Texas State Representative, Austin, TX

Hon. Elvira Reyna
Texas State Representative, Austin, TX

Hon. Pete Ríos
Arizona State Senator, District 7, AZ

Mr. Sam Ballen
Chairman and CEO, La Fonda, Santa Fe, NM

Mr. Eddie Basha
CEO and President, Bashas, Inc., Chandler, AZ

Mr. Ramiro Guzmán
President, Guzman and Associates, El Paso, TX

Mr. Lionel Sosa
CEO, Garcia LKS, San Antonio, TX


Dr. Felipe Alanis
Commissioner of Education

Dr. Tomás Arciniega
President, Bakersfield, California State University

Dr. Paul Elsner
Chancellor Emeritus, Maricopa County Community College District, Phoenix, AZ

Dr. Ricardo R. Fernández
President, Lehman College, The City University of New York

Mr. Antonio Flores
President, HACU, San Antonio, TX

Dr. Juliet Garcia
President, University of Texas, Brownswille

Mr. Albert Kauffman
Visiting Professor,Harvard University

Dr. David Longanecker
Executive Director, WICHE, Boulder, CO

Dr. Miguel Nevárez
President, University of Texas - Pan American, Edinburgh, TX

Dr. Eduardo Padrón
President, Miami-Dade Community College District, Miami, FL

Ms. María "Cuca" Robledo Montecel
Exeutive Director,IDRA,San Antonio,Tx

Dr. Armando Ruiz
Vice President, Irvine Valley College, Irvine, CA

Mr. Raúl Yzaguirre
President, National Council de la Raza, Washington, D.C.