asu written on a stone

Faculty excellence

The Arizona State University faculty is at the forefront nationally in advancing research and discovery. Our more than 5,000 faculty members inspire new ways of thinking, innovating and solving problems socially, culturally and economically in our region and in the international community.

We aspire to create an accessible academic experience and attract faculty not bound by traditional disciplinary distinctions, but who embrace an inclusive, collaborative and entrepreneurial environment defined by excellence and impact.

Faculty excellence spotlight


Jennifer Carlson, photo by John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

Jennifer Carlson

MacArthur Fellow

Jennifer Carlson is a sociologist reconfiguring understanding of gun culture in the U.S. Through ethnographic research, Carlson investigates the motivations and assumptions that drive gun culture.


Nicole Carroll

Nicole Carroll

Pulitzer Prize winner

Carroll led a project on the proposed U.S. border wall that won a 2018 Pulitzer Prize for Explanatory Reporting. She now leads the ASU Local Journalism Initiative, designed to develop new strategies for reporting on local communities.


Linda Elkins-Tanton

Lindy Elkins-Tanton

National Academy of Sciences member

Linda Elkins-Tanton is a leading figure in the early evolution of rocky planets and the principal investigator of the NASA Psyche Mission.


Meenakshi Wadhwa

Meenakshi Wadhwa

National Academy of Sciences member

Regents Professor Wadhwa's research has transformed the fields of cosmochemistry, solar system chronology, meteoritics and trace element geochemistry.


Highly prestigious awards and fellowships






Nicole Carroll

Sarah Cohen

Natalie Diaz

Stephen Doig

Rita Dove

Leonard Downie

Angela Hill

Bert Höelldobler

Mitchell S. Jackson

Azmat Khan

Walter Robinson



























































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































New faculty