Title Page / Introduction / Chronology / Academic Freedom: Academic Programs, Research / Campus Lives: Campus Scenes, Student Organizations, Athletes / Leadership / Community, Collaboration and Partnership / Landmarks / Bibliography & Links / Credits

The New ASU Story:
Academic Freedom - Academic Programs

Previous Image
Category Index
Next Image

Download this image
(ZIP file)

In 1944 a pre-nursing curriculum was established at ASTC, providing a five-year degree curriculum in nursing in conjunction with Phoenix area hospitals. By the mid-1950s such joint programs became obsolete. Finally the College of Nursing was founded in 1957, graduating 6 students in 1960.

For more information about the School of Nursing please visit:http://nursing.asu.edu/

Loretta H. Hanner,
Founding Dean of the College of Nursing (l.), with Dr. Arnold Tilden and Lulu Hassenplug, 1964

Loretta H. Hanner
Founding Dean of the College of Nursing (1964)
L-R: Loretta Hanner, Dr. Arnold Tilden, Lulu Hassenplug

University Archives
Department of Archives and Manuscripts
Arizona State University Libraries
Last updated: March, 2003
Send questions or comments to archives@mainex1.asu.edu

ASU Libraries: Architecture | Downtown Phoenix | Hayden | Law | Music | Polytechnic | Science | West