• Natalie Diaz

    MacArthur fellow

    2018 MacArthur fellow and poet Natalie Diaz draws from her experience as a Mojave American and Latina to challenge the mythological and cultural touchstones underlying American society.

    Read more
  • Frank Wilczek

    Frank Wilczek

    Frank Wilczek shared the 2004 Nobel Prize in Physics with David Gross and H. David Politzer for their discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction.

    Read more
  • Photo of Stephen Pyne, ASU MacArthur fellow

    MacArthur fellow

    MacArthur Fellowship recipient Stephen Pyne has written 15 books on the history and management of wild land and rural fire, including big-screen surveys for the U.S., Canada, Australia and Europe.

    Read more
  • Photo of Liz Lerman, ASU MacArthur fellow

    MacArthur fellow

    Liz Lerman was awarded a MacArthur Fellowship in 2002 for her work as founder and artistic director of the Dance Exchange.

    Read more
  • Photo of Elinor Ostrom, Nobel Laureate

    Nobel laureate

    Elinor Ostrom’s research challenged conventional wisdom and, in 2009, she became the first woman to receive the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences.

    Read more
  • Photo of Jacqueline Petchel, Pulitzer Prize Winner

    Pulitzer Prize winner

    Jacquee Petchel received a Pulitzer Prize Gold Medal for Public Service for an investigation into property damage in South Florida caused by Hurricane Andrew.

    Read more
  • Photo of Edward Prescott, ASU Nobel laureate

    Nobel laureate

    Edward Prescott shared the 2004 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences for work on dynamic macroeconomics, relating the time consistency of economic policy and the driving forces behind business cycles.

    Read more
  • Photo of Walter Robinson, Pulitzer Prize winner

    Pulitzer Prize winner

    Walter Robinson won the 2003 Pulitzer Prize for Public Service. He led the Boston Globe’s “Spotlight” team, which provided ‘courageous and comprehensive coverage’ of sexual abuse by priests.

    Read more
  • Photo of Stephen Doig, ASU Pulitzer Prize winner

    Pulitzer Prize winner

    Stephen Doig received a Pulitzer Prize Gold Medal, 1993, Journalism and Mass Communication

    Read more
  • Photo of Bert Hoelldobler, Pulitzer Prize Winner

    Pulitzer Prize winner

    Bert Hoelldobler received a Pulitzer Prize Gold Medal, 1991, Social Dynamics and Complexity

    Read more
  • Photo of Leland Hartwell, Nobel Laureate

    Nobel laureate

    Leland Hartwell won the 2001 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for insights into the genes that control cell growth and division.

    Read more
  • Photo of Leonard Downie, Pulitzer Prize Winner

    Pulitzer Prize winner

    Leonard Downie’s 17-year tenure as executive editor with the Washington Post included 25 Pulitzer Prizes and three Gold Medals in Public Service.

    Read more

Faculty excellence

The Arizona State University faculty is at the forefront nationally in advancing research and discovery. Our more than 3,400 faculty members inspire new ways of thinking, innovating and solving problems socially, culturally and economically in our region and in the international community.

We aspire to create an accessible academic experience and attract faculty not bound by traditional disciplinary distinctions, but who embrace an inclusive, collaborative and entrepreneurial environment defined by excellence and impact.

New faculty members

Every year ASU welcomes new faculty members from across the country and around the world. Download the New Faculty booklets.

2018–19 2017–18 2016–17 2015–16 2014–15

Faculty profile

Fall 2018  |  Full and part time

Total faculty: 4,704

  Number Percent
Global Management 33 1%
Business 330 7%
Engineering 590 12.5%
Health Solutions 202 4.3%
Design and the Arts 399 8.5%
Honors 41 1%
Journalism 110 2.3%
Law 95 2%
Integrative Sciences and Arts 326 7%
The College 1,309 28%
New College 215 4.6%
Nursing and Health Innovation 190 4%
Public Service and Community Solutions 345 7.3%
Sustainability 63 1.33%
Teachers College 300 6.4%
University College 23 0.5%
Other 88 2%

Tenure status

Tenured 1,464 31%
On tenure track 517 11%
Not on tenure track 2,723 58%

Faculty rank

Full Professor 1,049 22%
Associate Professor 812 17%
Assistant Professor 778 17%
Instructor 451 10%
Lecturer 535 11%
No Rank 1,079 23%


Female 2,558 48%
Male 2,446 52%


American Indian/Alaska Native 41 0.9%
Asian 500 10.6%
Black/African American 135 2.9%
Hispanic/Latino 353 7.5%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander 3 0.1%
Two or More Races 71 1.5%
Unspecified 333 7.1%
White 3,268 69.5%