Carnegie U.S. Professors of the Year

The Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) administers this program that is funded by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. A cash award of $5,000 is presented to the national winner in each of four different Carnegie classifications of institutions of higher learning. Carnegie also names Professors of the Year for each state and the District of Columbia. The primary thrust of theCarnegie award is extraordinary dedication to undergraduate teaching, as demonstrated by excellence in the following areas:
1990 Arizona Professor the Year
Professor John McIlveen
Department of Electrical Engineering


1991 Arizona Professor of the Year
Professor Stephen Happel
Department of Economics


1995 Arizona Professor of the Year
Professor Jay Boyer
Department of English

Last Modified: January 1997
CLTE pages maintained by