Scholarship Award: Young Steward of Public Policy

Prior Awardees

2007 - 2008»

2005 - 2006»

2004 - 2005»

2003 - 2004»

Public Policy, The Next Generation by Yuri Artibise, Senior Policy Analyst, Morrison Institute


Scholarship Award

Young Steward of Public Policy

SRP General Dynamics C4 Systems APS The Arizona Republic Tucson Citizen

2008 - 2009 Awardees

From left: Associate Director of the Morrison Institute Nancy Welch, and Young Steward scholarship recipients Maple So, 17, of Yuma, Travis James Clement (cq), 18, of Mesa, and Kimberly Waithe (cq), 17, of Chandler. Photo by Michael Schennum, The Arizona Republic. 

First Place Award: $1,500 ASU Scholarship
Kimberly Waithe
Chandler High School, Chandler, Arizona
Essay: “Water Conservation”

Second Place Award: $1,000 ASU Scholarship
Maple So
Yuma High School, Yuma, Arizona
Essay: “Proposal for Recycling Plastic Bags”

Honorable Mention
Travis James Clement
Dobson High School, Mesa, Arizona
Essay: “Sending the Right Message”

2008-2009 Selection Committee Members:
Phil Boas - Editorial Page Editor, The Arizona Republic
Joe Garcia - Viewpoints Page Editor, The Arizona Republic
Nicole Haas - Communications Manager, Morrison Institute
John Hall, Ph.D. - Professor, ASU School of Public Affairs
Mark Kimble - Editorial Editor, Tucson Citizen
Rob Melnick, Ph.D. - Director, Morrison Institute
Judy Mohraz, Ph.D. - President and CEO, Virginia G. Piper Charitable Trust
Dawson Rauch – 2007-2008 Young Steward Honorable Mention recipient

“Public Policy, The Next Generation,” by Yuri Artibise, Senior Research Analyst, Morrison Institute

Click here to read all essays in one PDF document (Adobe Acrobat Reader required)

Morrison Institute for Public Policy at Arizona State University
School of Public Affairs | College of Public Programs
Mail Code: 4220, 411 North Central Avenue, Suite 900, Phoenix, Arizona 85004-0692
Phone: 602-496-0900 Fax: 602-496-0964