Scholarship Award: Young Steward of Public Policy

Prior Awardees

2007 - 2008»

2005 - 2006»

2003 - 2004»

Lesson in Civics 101: Nation needs wonks
, By Bill Hart, Senior Research Analyst, Morrison Institute


Scholarship Award

Young Steward of Public Policy

SRP General Dynamics C4 Systems APS The Arizona Republic Tucson Citizen

2004 - 2005 Awardees

Left to right: Rob Melnick (director), Dennis Mitchell (1st place winner), Joaquin Rios (2nd place winner), Nancy Welch (associate director)

First place:
Dennis Mitchell, Greenway High School, Phoenix; Essay: "Bilingual Education"

Second place:
Joaquin Rios, Corona del Sol High School, Tempe; Essay: "Campaign Reform"

2004-2005 Selection Committee Members:
Phil Boas - Sunday Viewpoints Page Editor, The Arizona Republic
Mark Kimble - Editorial Editor, Tucson Citizen
Karen Leland - Manager, Public Affairs, Morrison Institute
Marty Vanacour - on Morrison Institute's Board of Advisors and CEO, Dynamic Relations, LLC
John Hall - Professor, ASU School of Public Affairs
Laura Peck - Professor, ASU School of Public Affairs
Lucia Bill - Honorable Mention Awardee for the Young Steward Scholarship 2003-2004

Back to main Young Steward page

Morrison Institute for Public Policy at Arizona State University
School of Public Affairs | College of Public Programs
Mail Code: 4220, 411 North Central Avenue, Suite 900, Phoenix, Arizona 85004-0692
Phone: 602-496-0900 Fax: 602-496-0964