Staff, Researchers & Board

Morrison Institute’s researchers are recognized as some of Arizona’s most experienced and insightful policy analysts. Their extensive backgrounds span both the public and private sectors, and encompass policy development at the local, state, and national levels. Arizona State University faculty members and experts from throughout the United States also contribute regularly to the Institute’s research and public outreach. Such experience ensures that Morrison Institute’s work is balanced, realistic, and objective.

Sue Clark-Johnson
Read Bio [PDF]

Sue Clark-Johnson

Executive Director

Nancy Welch

Associate Director


Research Areas

-Arts and culture
-Workforce development


Richard Toon, Ph.D.

Associate Director of Research


Research Areas

-Public understanding of science

-Criminal justice
-Museums and culture

-Education and informal learning

Click on one of the following categories to view staff profiles.

Policy Analysts/Fellows and Assistants

Yuri Artibise

Senior Research Analyst


Research Areas

-American Indian Policy
-Arts and culture
-Intergovernmental relations

David Berman, Ph.D.

Senior Research Fellow


Research Areas

-Intergovernmental relations
-Governing issues

Read Bio [PDF]

Grady Gammage

Senior Research Fellow


Research Areas

-Land use law

-History of urban development

-Historic preservation

-Aesthetic regulation

-State trust land

-Water resources

-Legislative decisionmaking

Bill Hart

Senior Policy Analyst


Research Areas

-Crime, corrections, and criminal justice

-Public mental health care

-Poverty and homelessness

Richard Toon, Ph.D.

Senior Policy Analyst


Research Areas

-Public understanding of science

-Criminal justice
-Museums and culture

-Education and informal learning

Andrea Whitsett


Policy Research Assistant


Media Contact and Office Staff

Nicole Haas

Communications Manager


Media Contact

602-496-0202 (office)

Suzanne Ernstein

Business Manager


Contact regarding billing issues




Cherylene Schick

Computer Documentation Specialist, Principal


Contact regarding ordering publications or the mailing list database



Policy Research Associates

Heather Campbell, Ph.D.

School of Public Affairs, ASU
MPA Director, College of Public Programs


Research Areas

-Public Policy Analysis
-Regression Methods
-Public Utility Regulation
-Environmental Regulation


Patricia Gober

Department of Geography
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences


Research Areas

-Demographic Trends
-Urban Environment
-Geography of Phoenix


John Hall, Ph.D.

Professor, ASU School of Public Affairs


Research Areas

-Urban Issues, Regions, Megapolitan and Citistate Development

-Community Resilience

-Governance Capacity and Intergovernmental Relations

-Health and Human Services

Tom Rex

Associate Director, Center for Competitiveness and Prosperity Research
WP Carey School of Business/ASU


Research Area

-Arizona Economic Trends and Demographics


Howard Sullivan, Ph.D.

Psychology in Education
College of Education/ASU


Research Areas

-Program evaluation
-Instructional Development


Winner of 2002 Outstanding Doctoral Mentor
Read announcement [PDF]


Board of Advisors

Chris Herstam
Read Bio [PDF]

Dr. Judy Jolley Mohraz

Chair, Morrison Institute Board of Advisors President/CEO Virginia G. Piper Charitable Trust



The Honorable Carolyn Allen
Senator, District 8
Arizona State Senate

Ms. Betsey Bayless
Chief Executive Officer
Maricopa Integrated Health System

Mr. Jack DeBolske
Former Executive Director
League of Arizona Cities & Towns

Dr. Robert Denhardt
Director, School of Public Affairs
Arizona State University

Mr. Ed Fox
Vice President
Communications, Environment and Safety

Dr. Debra Friedman
University Vice President and Dean, College of Public Programs
Arizona State University

Dr. Mernoy Harrison
Vice President and Executive Vice Provost, DPC
Arizona State University

Mr. Jay Heiler
Vice President/Managing Director
APCO Worldwide

Mr. Chris Herstam
Government Relations Director
Lewis and Roca

Mr. Mike Hutchinson
Retired City Manager
City of Mesa

The Honorable Bill Konopnicki
Representative, District 5
State of Arizona

Mrs. Linda Mazon Gutierrez
President of Board
Hispanic Women's Corporation

Dr. Judy Mohraz
Virginia G. Piper Charitable Trust

Ms. Cathy McKee Oleson
Former Vice President of Community Investment
General Dynamics C4 Systems

Mr. Richard Morrison
Salmon, Lewis & Weldon

Mr. Dick Silverman
General Manager
Salt River Project

Ms. Mary Upchurch
Principle Partner
RockCreek Innovations

Mr. John Whiteman
Whiteman Foundation

Mr. John Zidich
President and Publisher
The Arizona Republic

Morrison Institute for Public Policy at Arizona State University
School of Public Affairs | College of Public Programs
Mail Code: 4220, 411 North Central Avenue, Suite 900, Phoenix, Arizona 85004-0692
Phone: 602-496-0900 Fax: 602-496-0964