August 8-12th, 2011

University of California Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara, California, USA


General Information

EDISON 17 is the 17th meeting of the international conference series formerly named Hot Carriers in Semiconductors (HCIS), first held in Modena, Italy in 1973.  It will be held on August 8-12th, on the campus of the University of California, Santa Barbara.  The primary focus of EDISON is to provide an international venue to discuss the latest progress in the field of nonequilibrium classical and quantum carrier dynamics, from semiconductor bulk materials through advanced structures and nanoscale devices.



-Final Program is now online

-UCSB on-campus housing form is now active (under Accomodations), and list of nearby hotels

Important Dates

June 7th, 2011          Preliminary program available

July 15th, 2011         Early registration cutoff


EDISON 17 is supported by the Office of Naval Research and DARPA


Conference Topics

  • Nonequilibrium carrier transport in bulk and low dimensional materials
  • Coherent electron dynamics in solids for quantum processing and communications
  • Coherent/incoherent carrier dynamics and ultra-fast optical phenomena
  • Intersubband dynamics in low dimensional systems
  • Terahertz interactions with semiconductors
  • Semiconductor-based spintronics
  • Carrier transport and carrier dynamics in organic materials
  • Ultrafast carrier dynamics in energy conversion processes
  • Quantum carrier dynamics in ultrasmall structures and devices
  • Nonequilibrium carrier dynamics and fluctuation

Invited Speakers

  • Yasuhiko Arakawa (U. Tokyo): “Light-matter interactions in quantum dots”
  • Masahiro Asada (Tokyo Tech): “Resonant tunneling diodes in the THz range”
  • Jonathan Bessette (MIT): “Germanium lasers”
  • Carlo Jacoboni (U. Modena): “Quantum transport and carrier dynamics”
  • Thomas Mueller (TU Vienna): “Optical interactions with graphene”
  • Art Nozik (NREL): “Ultrafast carrier dynamics and energy conversion”
  • Hajime Okamoto (NTT): “Self oscillations in micromechanical resonators”
  • Carlo Sirtori (U. Paris): “Strong coupling in intersubband transitions”
  • Eva Weig (LMU): “Near-field cavity optomechanics”
  • Zhaohui Zhong (U. Mich.): “Terahertz ballistic electrons in carbon nanotubes”