ASU logo Martin Luther King, Jr.
2003 Celebration
ASU&MLK 2003 Student Winners

ASU&MLK 2003 poster

24 Arizona schoolchildren win statewide MLK poster-essay contest at ASU

    Twenty-four schoolchildren from around the state have won awards in ASU's annual Martin Luther King Jr. poster-essay contest. They will receive savings bonds and prize ribbons from President Michael Crow at a celebration breakfast Jan. 29 on the Tempe campus.

    All the winning posters will be displayed at the event, and four children will read their first-place essays to the group. Also invited to the awards ceremony are their parents and teachers. There were 1,508 entries in the contest.

    The posters are on display through January in the main campus Memorial Union, ASU East Campus Union and ASU West Fletcher Library. They also have been printed as bookmarks.

    The contest categories are primary, grades K-2; intermediate, grades 3-5; middle, grades 6-8; and secondary, grades 9-12. Winners are:

    Mesa - Brendon Beckman and Emily Farber, fifth graders at McArthur Elementary, won first and second place, respectively, in the intermediate essay category.

    Scottsdale - Jennifer Estes and Katie Herrick, eighth graders at Ingleside Middle School, won first and second, respectively, in middle school poster; and Joey Gallego, eighth grader from Mountainside Middle School, won third place. Nicole Rowe, eighth grader at Mountainside, won third place essay for middle school, and Sara Ober, a sophomore at Chaparral High School, won third place essay in the secondary category. Marlena Milum, in the fifth grade at Kachina Country Day School, won second place in the intermediate poster category.

    Washington District - First grader John Sitarz of Acacia Elementary and second grader Anjali Goria of John Jacobs Elementary won first and third, respectively, for primary poster. Joseph Parisi, third grader at John Jacobs, won first place poster in the intermediate category

    Phoenix Union - Sophomores Elaine Situ and Angela Gurney of North High School won first and second, respectively in the secondary essay category.

    Tolleson - Westview High School swept the secondary poster category, with Chris Rietz, sophomore, first; Courtney Joseph, senior, second; and Liz Gaugert, sophomore, third.

    Deer Valley - Desert Winds Elementary students Taylor Stephens, fourth grade, won third place intermediate poster; Monica Martinek, fifth grade, won third place intermediate essay; and Zachary Herda, sixth grade, won second place middle school essay.

    Sierra Vista - Three second graders at Pueblo del Sol Elementary took the awards in primary essay: Tyler Bushell, first; Sara Ray, second; and Donovan Brown, third.

    Tucson - Michelle Ritter, a seventh grader at Dodge Middle School, won first place for her essay in the middle school category.

    Payson - Helene Galloway, second grader at Shelby School, won second place for her poster in the primary category.

Read the winning Essays:
Primary Grade Winners-MS-Word or Adobe PDF
Intermediate Grade Winners-MS-Word or Adobe PDF
Middle School Winners-MS-Word or Adobe PDF
Secondary Grade Winners-MS-Word or Adobe PDF

See the Poster/Bookmark Winners:


Copyright © Arizona Board of Regents - All rights reserved. | | Last updated 10/01/02