Commission on the Status of Women

CSW Outstanding Achievement and Contribution Awards

2000 Award Recipients

Jess Alberts

Chair, Hugh Downs School of Human Communication
President, Faculty Women’s Association (FWA):

"We…chose her as our President in which capacity she has served us well…organizing sessions on promotion and tenure, classroom management, sponsoring speakers on topics with special interest to women and representing us admirably, and with tact, to the administration…. Not only is she an excellent leader and champion of affirmative action for faculty and graduate students, she has continued her mentorship of women undergraduates."

Kris Ewing

Assistant Director, Intergroup Relations Center

"Kris Ewing has contributed a great deal of time and personal energy to making ASU a better place for women. She also takes the extra step to encourage and empower other women (and men) to get involved as well, (and) is helping to improve the campus climate for women. Through her advocacy for women’s issues she has brought greater attention to the unique perspectives, expectations, needs and abilities of women at ASU (and) has spearheaded a number of women’s initiatives at ASU."

Carolyn Forbes

Academic Associate, Commission on the Status of Women

"…It would be easy to say that it’s Carolyn’s ‘job’ to …identify, advocate for and increase awareness of needed changes" for women at ASU, but I believe Carolyn has gone well beyond the job description for her position… While most people have the opportunity to effect change in one particular area, Carolyn, in her position with the CSW, has been able to effect change across the campus, and indeed across the state. She has brought individuals together to work towards similar goals both within the ASU community and among the three state universities, which is no small accomplishment."

Jennifer Holsman

President, Associated Students of ASU

"An activist within her community at all levels, Jennifer has founded such key groups on campus as the Women’s Coalition, Women in Leadership and the Diana Campus Community-all of which have deeply impacted ASU women’s experiences. Most striking about these accomplishments is that she has collaborated and advocated for needs of women students and takes decisive action while balancing her myriad involvements, jobs and schoolwork."

University Career Women

Executive Committee: Esther Moon, Kathy Brower, Cheryl Laurent, Mary Link, Bridget Price

The vision of UCW is to provide a mechanism for women to affect issues, provide professional and personal growth programs, take an active role in improving the status of women and create and inspire opportunities in a supportive and accepting environment. UCW has taken the lead in working with classified staff women on issues of diversity related to the workplace...(and) taking action to engage members and non-members in their own education through dialogue-based programs...The UCW has become a proactive women's organization, providing programs and opportunities that meet the needs of women all over campus and that certainly exemplifies and furthers the mission of the ASU Commission on the Status of Women."