Manuel Peña, Jr. AKA, "Lito" Peña. State Senator (Ret.)

Manuel Peña, Jr. was born in Cashion but grew up in Tolleson, where as a student he championed an end to educational segregation. This signaled his long-life pursuit through political struggles for promoting fairness in employment, equality in social living, and human rights for all.

In his political life, he served three terms in the Arizona House of Representatives and twelve terms in the Arizona State Senate. His thirty years of service in the Arizona Legislature crowned his many years of public service.

Lito Peña served local government, various organizations, and community services. A few services are listed: Commissioner on Human Relations, City of Phoenix; Executive Secretary, State Athletic Commission; Vice Chairman, Movimiento Unido Mexicano; President of Community Service Organization; Post Commander, American Legion Post 41;


and Secretary/Treasurer of the Phoenix Catholic Labor Society. Manuel Peña served on the Board of Directors of several organizations, among them: Phoenix Council for Civic Unity, Careers for Youth, Phoenix Urban League, CODAC, and Community Service Organization. Manuel Peña held memberships in various organizations: He served as Chairman, State Advisory Committee to the United States Commission on Civil Rights; member of the Arizona Consumers Council; Vice-President of American Legion Post 41, and member of VFW Post 6310.

Manuel Peña, a member of the democrat political party, served District 22. In his capacity as a state legislator, Peña sponsored the legislation of many important state laws that sought to protect the working person, the disabled, the homeless, and grandparents. Peña supported the Martin Luther King Holiday. He sponsored bills: Eliminate the Sales Tax on Food, Reduce Finance Company Interest Rates, Fair Housing Bill, Regulate Auto Repairs, Unit Pricing, and the Dr. César Estrada Chávez Proclamation.

Manuel Peña served on various National Committee Assignments: Assembly on the Legislature, State Federal Assembly, Council of State Governments, Commerce, Labor and Regulation, and the Economic Development & Trade Committee.