2006 Academic Bowl

Photos | Video | Articles

2010 Academic Bowl Winners - Click to view photo gallery

ASU's Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering took home the inaugural Academic Bowl crown after a highly competitive final round of competition Nov. 6.

The school's team pulled out a last-second 290-285 victory over the team from the W. P. Carey School of Business. The match, along with the semifinal round earlier in the evening, was taped before a boisterous studio audience at Eight/KAET-TV and will be aired at 5 p.m., Nov. 19.

"It really was a lot of fun," says ASU President Michael Crow, who served as the moderator for the final session. "I was in a competition like this in high school, and it was great to serve as moderator. These teams were really spirited and put on a great show."

The final match featured Fulton School of Engineering students Karl Sturm, Amy Teegarden, Andrew Holle and Marko Manojlovic taking on Joseph Favre, Chuan Xiong, Alex Porter and Derek Guizado of W. P. Carey.

The matches for the event featured two 12-minute halves, with teams buzzing in for a chance to answer an initial "tossup" question worth 10 points. With a correct answer, the team earned a chance to answer a bonus question worth up to 30 points. The topics included science, geography, literature, arts and science.


View Photo Gallery