SPP 504–02: Workers’ Compensation
To provide employees with workers’ compensation insurance
Workers’ Compensation Act, Arizona Revised Statutes §§ 23–901 to –1091
Workers’ compensation is a “no fault” system that provides payment for medical expenses and for time lost from work when an employee has an eligible on-the-job injury or job-related illness. All work-related illnesses, accidents, or injuries must be reported to Environmental Health & Safety in compliance with EHS 115, “Incident Reporting and Investigation.” Eligibility for workers’ compensation benefits is based on Arizona statutes and administrative codes.
Workers’ compensation wage loss benefits are payable up to 66 2/3 percent of monthly salary, to the maximum as set by the Arizona Legislature, and are paid beginning the eighth calendar day of disability. Benefits are paid retroactively from the date of disability if the employee is absent from work 14 days or more.
While an employee is receiving workers’ compensation benefits, he or she must be placed on either a Family Medical Leave of Absence or an Extended Leave of Absence. An employee on Family Medical Leave may use, if available, sick and/or compensatory time during the initial seven days of leave and, beginning on day eight, must use sick and compensatory time in coordination with workers’ compensation benefits. Vacation leave benefits may also be used for the employee to remain in a full pay status after sick and compensatory benefits have been exhausted. The combination of leave benefits and workers’ compensation may not exceed 100 percent of the employee’s salary. An employee on Extended Leave of Absence has the choice of using sick, compensatory, or vacation benefits while on leave.
Insurance benefits for the employee and covered dependents will continue for a period of six months from the first day of the leave, with the employee responsible for only the employee portion of premium. While the employee remains in a paid status, deductions will be taken from his or her paycheck as usual; when the leave becomes unpaid, the employee will be billed by the Office of Human Resources. If the employee’s premium payment is more than 30 days late, the university may discontinue coverage retroactive to the last day of the pay period for which coverage had been paid.
Employee and ASU retirement contributions will continue to be made based on the total amount of leave benefits, not on any replacement salary paid by workers’ compensation.
A medical release providing that the employee can perform the essential functions of the position with or without accommodations must be submitted before the employee will be allowed to return to work.
Workers’ compensation also provides survivor benefits for a work-related death.
For information on incident reporting, see the Environmental Health & Safety Manual, EHS 115: “Incident Reporting and Investigation.”
skip navigation bar