Police Department Manual (PDP)

[horizontal rule]

Effective: 9/1/1963

Revised: 3/1/2010

[horizontal rule]
[ASU logo]

PDP 203–05: Reporting Traffic Accidents

[horizontal rule]


[horizontal rule]

To provide guidelines for reporting traffic accidents occurring on university property

[horizontal rule]


[horizontal rule]

Arizona Revised Statutes §§ 28–661 to –674
University policy

[horizontal rule]


[horizontal rule]

A driver involved in a traffic accident on university property must report the traffic accident to the ASU Police Department (ASU PD) as soon as possible, or no later than 24 hours after the accident, and if it involves any of the following:

  1. injury or death (which must be reported immediately)
  2. damage to university property or a government vehicle
  3. damage in excess of $1,000 to any one vehicle


  4. accidents involving hazardous material.

[horizontal rule]


[horizontal rule]

If involved in or witness to an accident involving injury or death, dial 911 immediately and report the incident. If a cellular phone is used to report the accident, tell the call taker your location so you can be directed to the proper police agency if needed.

ASU Police Department will respond, render aid as necessary, assist all involved, and investigate the collision as required by law and policy.

All drivers involved in a traffic accident must stop and exchange the following information:

  1. names and addresses
  2. drivers’ license numbers and issuing states
  3. vehicle license plate numbers and vehicle identification numbers
  4. year and make of vehicles


  5. insurance information.

Accidents Involving Unattended Vehicles

In an accident involving an unattended vehicle, the driver responsible for the accident must make a reasonable effort to locate the owner of the unattended vehicle. If unable to locate the owner, the driver may contact ASU Police Department (ASU PD) or leave a note with his or her name and address, as well as the name and address of the owner of the vehicle, if different, per Arizona Revised Statutes § 28–664.

If you become the victim of an unattended vehicle accident in which the driver of the other vehicle left the area without providing the information required by law, contact the ASU Police Department to file a report about the incident if the event happened on ASU property. Accidents for which there is no suspect information may be difficult to solve but may still be reported.

[horizontal rule]


[horizontal rule]

For information on reporting emergencies, see:

  1. PDP 101–01, “Reporting an Emergency”
  2. PDP 101–02, “Emergency Call Boxes”


  3. the Parking and Transit Services Policies and Procedures Manual—PTS 701, “Motorist Assistance.”

For more information on university vehicles and accident reporting, see the Facilities Management Policies and Procedures Manual—FAC 204, “University Vehicle Policy.”

skip navigation bar

PDP manual | ASU policies and procedures manuals | Index of Policies by Title | PDP manual contact | Police Department Web site

Back to Top

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional